Forgot

Forgot

you are you

I was sitting in my apartment

On one of those dark days,

Uncluttering some clutter

To cure a general malaise

When a note from you spilled to the floor

So I gave it a quick glance.

It said “I will always love you”

In your chicken scratch.

It was dated back from the days

Before we parted ways.

Just a flash of pink and yellow

Amongst my browns and grays.

There was a tell tale tickle

From somewhere south of my belt

As I remembered how you had looked at me

And how your fingers felt

And I looked at my phone and thought:

“What have I to loose?”

And that’s when I remembered

You are you.

 

I was eating at that restaurant

The one we used to go.

The waiter didn’t recognize me

It was so long ago

And I entertained the notion

To invite you for a bite,

Strictly platonic, I thought that would be alright,

No strings attached at all, simply something to do

And that’s when I remembered

You are you.

 

I was driving in the old neighborhood

Past the places we used to go

And I found myself on the corner

Where you said you loved me so.

You still lived just right up the street

As far as I knew

And I almost knocked upon your door

Before I remembered

You are you.

 

So I returned to my clutter

Back in my empty room

And your note was still lying there

In my brown/gray gloom.

So I lit a cigarette

And the edge of it

And it burned without a sound

And before it got my fingers

I flicked it in the file that is round.

Just like the old song says:

“Regrets, I’ve had a few.”

I guess I forgot to remember

You are you.

Paris,Winter, 2013.

Leave a Reply

