The Wide Side of the Bed.

Photo-23

The Dalai Lampa

 

 


The Wide Side of the Bed 

 

 

Camped in the hinterlands of this hotel bed, 

Bivouacked above the covers, 

Staring out across the sheets. 

The opposite of akimbo, 

Curled fetal as a fist, 

There’s a thunderhead of pillows

Above the wide side of the bed.

 

My own Ice Station Zebra,

My personal South Pole,

My five hundred thread count percale ice floe.

Was it something that I didn’t say

Or something that I said?

Now I’m hunched on the horizon

Of the wide side of the bed.

 

The air conditioner is blowing

Out of the North, by the vent.

The bedside lamp’s a lighthouse

But all my ships have sank.

Was it something that I didn’t mean

Or something that I meant?

Staring at the unthawed distance

Of the wide side of the bed.

 

 

 

Treasure Island, Florida. Winter, 2012

Leave a Reply

