Do I Still Happen To You Like You’re Still Happening To Me?

I’ll be looking at the moon but I’ll be seeing you.

            – Irving Kahal

 

Do I still happen to you like you’re still happening to me

Whenever I see someone brush their hair behind their ear in a certain way?

Or see a doomed fly buzzing against a windowpane,

Or sheets of a certain thread count,

Or trees of a certain leaniness,

Or stars of a certain luster?

 

Do I still happen to you like you’re still happening to me?

 

Do I still happen to you

When a bird flies in an open window, bangs around a couple of times and then flies out?

Or when your tongue comes across a bit of popcorn, caught between your teeth,

Or when you see a hat squashed flat like Buster Keaton’s,

Or you stumble across an apology,

Or step barefoot on a lawn,

Or can’t find your car keys?

Do I still happen to you?

 

You still happen to me

When I forget the jumper cables.

When I spill the coffee grinds.

When I misplace the passport

Or drop the change at the toll booth.

That’s when you still happen to me.

 

Do I still happen to you

When trains are spoken of?

When waterfalls are mentioned

Or when garbage trucks back up

Or smiles crack?

Do I still happen to you?

 

You still happen to me

When the blank page glares.

Or when the crumpled kleenex misses the basket.

Or when I think of hallways

Or at the sound of words like “Move”

Or “Lunch”

Or “Waist”

Or “Waste.”

You still happen to me.

 

Do I still happen to you

When you see a shadow on the water?

When you hear the squeak of a shoe that doesn’t quite fit?

Or at the sound of words like “Cove”

Or “Twine”

Or “Hinge”?

Do I still happen to you?

 

Do you hear your phone not ringing?

That’s me calling.

 

But you still happen to me

When sweaters are pulled taught.

When water parts as it travels across a hipbone.

When I see the almost invisible cathedral of tiny hairs at the nape of a neck.

When I wish my world was bigger.

That’s when you still happen to me.

 

Do I still happen to you

At all?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Miami, Winter, 2010

Leave a Reply

